Part 154 ~ The Adventures of King Ben & Zeus the Big Dumb Dog

If you missed the start of this series, you can find it here. A lot of things will be the same or very similar.

Ben had his dinner, took a bath and said he was ready for bed… before 6:30pm. I’m starting to wonder if Driving Miss Daisy is part of the reason he stays up later those nights.

Sciencey Sunset Documentation time

Mostly I relaxed and tried not to move very much. I turned off the AC in the living room and opened the windows. With no one in there except Sven, it’s a waste to run the AC. I ate part of my Jersey Mike’s Sub In Tub, I did the stuff I usually do. I also dozed off, like I usually do.

I woke from a deeper doze after midnight and took my pill, ate a cookie for sweet dreams, and went back to sleep. One or two brief wake-ups until 5:15am when Ben was going after something on my bedside table, and Zeus was sniffing and bed quaking. Five Freakin Fifteen!

Into the living room after the SpazmaTaz. I flopped onto the couch, trying to get my eyes to focus. I cleaned my glasses a couple times, thinking there was a smudge or something… nope! It was my eyeballs that were “smudged”.

I did the Stuff and the Things, Ben made noise, banged into everything, scripted and did his version of morning stuff and things.

I was refilling his water bottle when he slammed into me, full force, from behind. He hurt me, and I doubled over in pure reaction to the pain. He thought the whole thing was hysterical. Another thing we are trying to make him understand… laughter at bullying or someone getting hurt isn’t fun laughter, it’s mean laughter. Knowing he doesn’t understand doesn’t take the sting out of the moment.

Anyway, Daughter got up in the middle of the madness. She arrived just in time to see me doubled over. She took over the couch and I went to my room where… I fought the doze, and the doze won.

Around 10:30am my pain doctor’s office called me. I was scheduled to have my monthly pump fill tomorrow (Friday) at 8:30am, so I took the call wondering what the problem was. I guess the doctor will be doing a procedure and won’t be available in the morning so they wanted me to come in today. Her exact words were “right now or at 1:00pm”. Having just woke up, I opted for 1pm, not even sure what time it was when the call came.

I got to the doctor’s office at 12:45. I was still in the waiting room at 1:30pm. I really don’t like waiting around. I wish they’d just tell me the real time or a closer idea. Maybe I should save that for a Monday Peeve!

They finally called me back at 1:40pm. They took my vitals… weight 180 pounds and blood pressure 142/90, which is good for me. I have high blood pressure for no reason. Or maybe it’s just pain and stress… I had a bunch of tests run several years ago and the cardiologist basically shrugged when I asked why it was high.

Anyway, I got my pain pump filled and was on my way home by 2:10pm. It was groady outside! 95F and 45% humidity… yucky! I am one of those unlucky people whose face and head sweats a LOT! It literally rolls down my face and drips off my hair… gross!

I got home and Zeus was excited to see me, but no Ben. Daughter said he’d gone to my room. I said hello to the whining wiggler and went to see HRH and get my dang shoes off. Ben was asleep. Great!

I woke him up and sent him to the living room. No AC in my room and it’s a sauna in there. He moved to the couch. I asked Daughter what she was gonna do about his meds. She said “wake him up and give them to him”, then grabbed her stuff and went to her room. Oh-kaaay… I guess that was an order, not an explanation. So I got his meds ready, woke him up and gave him his meds. He even stayed awake and was in a good mood. Yay!

Ben played with his dominoes and I went through my WP Reader for the first time. Ugh! I hate being “behind”. At one point Ben told me he needed “help”. Uh-oh… I asked what he needed. He wanted me to set up the dominoes for him. I told him that he was much better at setting them up than me, and Zeus would get in the way if I tried. He said “Gramma to do it”, but I used his favorite trick… ignoring.

Around 4:15pm Daughter came back to take over Couch Sittin. I wasn’t expecting her until later, but I wasn’t gonna argue about it. I grabbed my stuff and got Horizontal in the Sauna, aka my room.

Ben came and joined me at 4:45. He did NOT Bounce me. He asked me “All better?” meaning, did I notice he got on the bed gently? I told him he’d done awesome. He watched his tablet and giggled.

I think we’ll end there… Ben is happy, laughing and remembering not to cannonball onto my bed. Things could change, but I’ll hold onto this Good Moment!

I heard this on the radio on the way home from the doctor’s office. I thought it would be a good song for today… or any day.

Thank you for sweating with us today. This disgusting heat is supposed to be easing off a little bit, says the Guessers, starting tomorrow. It’s still gonna be way too hot, but it’s August, so we’re kinda stuck for another month or so. I’ll keep the AC crankin and the Sweet Tea cold. And here at the Casa, you can wear as many or as few clothes as you’re comfortable with. We don’t judge. Hasta mañana.

.

.

HUGS!

.

.

22 thoughts on “Part 154 ~ The Adventures of King Ben & Zeus the Big Dumb Dog

  1. I’m am happy the day ended on a positive note. Whew! Med time is always a tough time – ouch! The reminders really are for the greater good! One happy Ben equals happiness all around. Or at least a greater chance for some calmer times. I am glad you were able to be seen today as well, but geez! Another wait! Yuck. Glad it is all done, at least. Here is hoping for a great evening and day tomorrow! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Robyn!💗 I’m kinda glad its over with. I’m kinda hoping we tricked whatever “trickster” is making Ben wake up so early on days when we could sleep a little later. Maybe he’ll sleep in tomorrow since I had an early appointment 😉… or, being Ben he’ll wake up at 3am🙄🤷🏼‍♀️😂
      I’m ready for summer to be OVER! 🥵💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I sure hope it cools off for you. Heat and humidity are yucky. Cookies for sweet dreams – I like it!🍪🍪😊 Happy for Ben’s happy noises. You gave me a few giggles along the way. Thank you! Hugs! 🤗🎶✨🦜🦋🌙💞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you got some giggles! We try to have fun and not take ourselves too seriously.
      I’m not sure if the cookie helped, but it didn’t hurt😉🍪 I need to make myself eat more. 180 is on the low side for my 6′ body.🙄
      See ya tomorrow, have a cookie and some sweet dreams!🍪🌊🦄🦜🦋🌷🌻🤗🥰

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope that Ben didn’t hurt your back when he bumped into you? Kids do need things explained to them repeatedly about their behavior. Take care my friend. Stay cool! Hope the temps drop too. Heat and humidity together are no picnic. Hugs 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He didn’t hurt my back, he hit me so hard he slammed me into the counter and I’m so tall it hits right at my pubic bone, so bone against counter. Not an injury I was expecting… when I get hurt, I do it in unusual ways🤷🏼‍♀️ My leg is finally completely healed😉😂😂🤗🥰🌻🦋💗

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You know what!? I’ve been thinking about the dominoes.. when I was a kid, they had this thing that drove along with a stack of them, setting them up all nice and even… The Domino Train… Ben needs a domino train!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh dear lord, NO! 😂😂😂 I can just see Zeus following behind, barking at the dang thing.🙄😂 Besides, setting them up keeps him occupied and works on his fine motor skills (that counts as school right?😉)
      It does sound like a cool gizmo though, thanks!😁🌺

      Like

  5. Glad you are okay and surviving the heat.
    It’s not only hot here, but smokey. No reason to be outside at all.

    Made banana bran muffins ( had to use up the 3 frozen bananas and 2 room temperature ripe ones ).
    Boiled and took skins off the little peaches and made a buckwheat crumble pie.

    Then made a few peach and blueberry turnovers.

    I keep myself busy and try to use up what ingredients I have.

    Tomorrow i should make a quiche with the loads of fresh zucchini from the garden.

    I should be sewing masks, since the one i made for my mom didn’t fit. She has a poor immune system with her Multiple Myeloma so she needs to be extra careful.

    I do remember Andrew being extra rough with me. Not exactly purposeful, i suppose. When he was a baby, he head butted me in the face. Now that hurt.

    Do show him the pain you feel when he does these things. He can learn and have consequences. Although, we hardly got mad at Andrew when he was young.
    He reacted poorly to it. Can’t really describe how or why and he couldn’t tell us his feelings either.
    There was lot’s of tears from him when he was failing college snd we were reprimanding him for sleeping through his finals. He was house sitting for a neighbor and played video games all night instead of sleeping. But he would completely shut down emotionally and couldn’t give us a reason why. So frustrating.
    Hang in there.
    We haven’t heard from Andrew in a few weeks and he’s not responding to our calls and emails. We know he’s house sitting for our sister in our neighborhood too. Just so weird. I’m trying not to worry.
    Thanks for listening

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ben thinks he’s playing… he watches movies and animated stuff and it’s really the worst, with characters bopping each other and making faces and everything is fine. Plus he just throws his whole body into things. He’s a “sensory seeker”, I guess he just doesn’t feel his body like other people do.🤷🏼‍♀️

      Younger goes days without contact… it usually means either everything is fine and she’s just doing her thing -or- she’s having problems and trying to solve them on her own.

      You could do a stealthy drive-by… make sure he’s bringing the mail in and stuff. Reassure yourself that all the horrible things you’ve imagined haven’t happened.

      It’s SO hard to let them live their lives, but ultimately that’s what we want. Younger is still looking for work and she’s had two interviews… she hasn’t called to tell me she got hired, so I’m guessing that’s why I haven’t heard from her. Its rough out there.

      Sending Hugs!💞💕💌

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So true. Good call on ideas why we haven’t heard much. We know he is caring for 2 dogs and when we walked by, his car wasn’t there ( prob hidden in garage) and light was on and dogs were barking at window. We kept walking.
        But it really should matter to him that we care and need to hear from him occasionally.
        He gets wrapped up in this political stuff and gets upset.
        And i know they take these movies literally. It’s not good when they act like these characters. Prob told you already how Andrew snuck out of back gate when I wasn’t home, lied in middle of our street like Andy in movie Toy Story did. My husband heard a ruckus out front when a car came… I wasn’t there, but everyone was okay. Seriously scary.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You may have told me, or did Ken put it in the book? Yeah… very scary!
          Younger is 25… twenty something kids dont think about their parents worrying… their lives are so very dramatic and intense…🙄😂😂😂 I remember being in my 20s… of course Older was born 6 weeks before my 21st birthday, so I had some extra responsibilities…

          I hope he calls or at least texts you soon. Just a “I’m alive. Love you” would be good enough most of the time😂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes. It was written in “Andrewtism”. Not one of our proudest moments.

            We have birthing children in common also. I had Curtis when I was 20. We’ve been doing this parenting thing a loooonnng tiiiimmmmeee.

            Thanks for all of your encouraging comments and love.

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Older works Sat & Sun nights, so I’ll be Couch Sittin 😉 I guess we’ve been on “weekend” mode pretty much since school closed on March 13. It makes me laugh to think how I used to complain about 3 week school breaks🙄🤦🏼‍♀️😂😂😂💌💌

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ugh, I can’t stand getting behind with the Reader, even though I do it all the time. Of course, I rarely get to the legit Reader, My “reader” is my email box, as I have my blog set up so that any time someone does ANYTHING I get a notification email. It literally takes hours to get through it all, so if I screw around at any point, I’m instantly behind. It’s taxing, to be sure. But I firmly believe that if someone takes the time to interact with my blog, I should also take the time to acknowledge that interaction.

    Yep, I made this comment all about me, again. Mea culpa. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.