Update

I figured I should update you all on what’s been going on since my last post. I’m still lurking so I know people have left or scaled back. Most people I know are having a lot of challenges lately.

Daughter is still ill. Back in April and May it was 50/50 odds whether she would live. She fought thru, with the help of all of the medical assistance and, when stabilized, came home. Her care was transferred to UCSD Medical.

Unfortunately at the same time she lost her work sponsored insurance. She had MediCal, but none of her previous doctors accepted MediCal, so she has been waiting and waiting for an appointment with a new Primary Care doctor. She is still not listed for transplant.

On a positive note, she seems to be doing what the doctors said was impossible… healing. They all agreed that her liver was too trashed to ever heal, but her lab results have improve. She is in the “normal” range for all but one level on the MELD test. It’s a very, VERY slow process, but in long-term, it would be better for her to keep her liver. She still has major mobility issues due to severe edema in her legs. We’ve been to a Lympedema clinic, and they’re going to mummy wrap her legs five days in a row next month. Now I’m learning about the Lymphatic system.

Ben turned 15 recently… shout out to my Cosmic Sister who shares his birthday. His growth explosion seems to have slowed. He is currently about 5’10” tall, weighs 185lbs and wears men’s XL clothes. He has a bit of a belly, but he’s mostly USDA American Beef!😂 His appetite has gone back to “normal”, and his behavior has improved. He’s still a Profoundly Autistic teen with severe ADHD, but he’s not breaking things and screaming all the time anymore. I’ll take it!

The next big event is moving. We have until the end of this year and I’m finding that we will probably not be able to find more than a one bedroom in our price range. The other hurdle is Zeus. A lot of places will accept a small dog, but as he’s a shepherd mix, small he is not. I’m still hoping the right place will present itself to us. The actual moving part won’t be too bad, since we’re not taking any of our beds or furniture. It’s all broken and worn out. We’ll start new in whatever space we end up in.

I have meds in my Intrathecal Pump and I’m doing okay. I still have to take some oral meds so it’s not ideal, but other matters are more pressing right now. Life continues to throw curveball and Mr Murphy is always near. My mental health is still good.

Anyway, that’s where we are. I’m still way too bogged down to have the bandwidth to socialize. I rarely communicate with anyone, other than Younger and my BFF, outside my house. I do still think of all of you and plan to be back to regular, or semi regular, posting at some point.

.

.

HUGS

.

9 thoughts on “Update

  1. Oh I’m glad that your daughter is healing. I pray that her liver recovers fully. So sorry about all the other complaints besetting your family. You’re in my thoughts and I’m sending you lots of hugs

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s a double whammy: Losing your job due to illness and then losing your insurance because you’re unemployed. It should be illegal, but as the company representative who deals with all insurance issues, other than gov’t bailout, I don’t see how to avoid it. I’m glad your daughter is doing better. The house issue sounds pretty challenging, but like you say, there’s still time for it to work out. Be well. Thinking about you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi – I’m so happy to hear from you.
    Hearing that your daughter is healing is positive news. I hope the insurance issues resolve and she gets the resources she needs to get well again.
    I’m not familiar with Liver disease.
    I’m glad you have the emotional support you need through your younger daughter and your BFF.
    Moving will be a new start. You will miss your tree and the birds who frequent it.
    We are surviving here. My oldest is still unemployed and he’s struggling with his mental health and has no insurance. He refuses medical and self medicates.
    Andrew is thriving. He has a job caring for autistic kids. He is good at it, but calls himself a glorified babysitter and is looking for other work.
    He is still dating his girlfriend, but no word on them getting engaged or moving in together. He is singing in an acapella group, and the Blackhawk choir. He has many friends whom he plays video games with online to keep in touch. He also house sits when my friends go on vacation. He is beginning to save and has a little breathing room in case of emergency.
    15? Wow. That happened fast. Glad Ben is better at handling his emotions.
    Sorry to hear about your dog. A lot of people have had to give up their pets since they lost their jobs and can’t afford them. Sad.
    I’m okay. Been working a lot. They need me more and more. I love the kids and the parents treat me well. It’s good exercise and I’m generally sleeping a little better.
    It’s good to know you are okay.
    Hugs and prayers for continued healing.

    Teri

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Yep I’m lurking as well, still here :). Sorry for the uber-delayed comment!! Happy Birthday to His Highness, and thank you so much for the lovely shout-out, Hermana Cosmica!! ❤ ❤ (typing on boring old keyboard hence the limited emoji library lol). I’m so elated to hear about Older Daughter’s healing!! I’m really pulling for her, pulling hard. Have you moved yet?? We’re looking at moving too. :D. Sending you happy and healing thoughts for much-better days ahead!! Big love and hugs 😀 ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.