Part 113 ~ The Adventures of King Ben & Zeus the Big Dumb Dog

If you missed the start of this series, you can find it here. A lot of things will be the same or very similar.

It seems like I’m writing a lot about what happened after we said our goodbyes the previous day. I guess it’s because stuff keeps happening… life at Casa Cuckoo never seems to slow down.

Ben’s meds, dinner and bath kept to schedule. I was very punctual. As soon as he was clean and in playing mode in the tub, I left to pick up Younger Daughter. She wanted to use my car to do Postmates for a few hours. Neither of the jobs she interviewed for hired her, and the nanny job is ending. She’s stressed. Oh, and she and her Partner are sniping at each other again (still?)

Ben was in bed when Younger dropped me off back at the Casa. I had about twenty minutes to stretch out before sunset.

Younger Daughter came by to pick up a charger for her phone, then back to delivering food. NONE of her orders left her a tip. None! People… please remember to tip. Unless the service is horrible, even if it’s just a delivery of a $5.00 order… people are relying on those tips. Round up to the nearest dollar, tip $1.00… anything, everything helps.

Anyway, at 10pm I was fading fast so I texted Younger with “Soon?” She agreed to stop and pick me up to drop her off so I could go back home and sleep. I got back home a little after 11pm, took my pill and was out around midnight. Again, apologies if I sent any weird comments on your posts. When the “OFF” switch gets hit, I often have no warning. I only woke up once in the night and I went right back to sleep.

The summons came at 6:30 this morning. Amazing! It was light outside. I cant say I was fully rested, but it was better than 5am and MUCH better than 3am!

Regular morning stuff followed. I didn’t take a picture of Sven today because he hadn’t moved. Ben and I hung out on the couch until Older came to take over at 8:30. She put her load of clothes in the washer before she took over. Well done!

I went back to my room, followed very closely by Zeus, (it gets extremely irritating having him follow every single step I take, all dang day) and a few minutes later, Ben.

Ben was back and forth between my room and the living room until about 10:00 when he settled down to do the chalk thang.

Today’s creation

My and Ben’s load of clothes followed Daughter’s in the washer and at 10:30 I masked up (I tried the coffee filter, it seemed to work. Thanks, Paula!) and put on those torture devices called shoes, and drove across the street. (See… I told you there’d be laundry. Exciting stuff, huh?!)

Ben went outside for a while around 11:00. It was already getting warm out there, but he pretty much stayed in the shade and bonus, he burnt off some energy sweeping. He likes to sweep dirt and dust so it floats in the air. He likes to look at the light reflecting in/on it. Very very visual is our King Ben. Too bad we can’t harness that desire to sweep into sweeping all the dust and dog hair all over the place, huh? I wish!!

At 11:30 I went to get the clothes from the dryers and brought them home. Daughter’s basket got deposited in her room, my and Ben’s stuff got folded and put away. Both the child and the furry child tried to lay in the middle of the clean clothes which I was folding on my bed. I get it. Smells good… feels warm and fluffy… but just, No! Let me fold them and put them away and be done. Grrrr!

At noon after giving Ben his med, Daughter went to her room to charge her stuff. Ben and I stayed in my room until almost 1pm. I noticed his cheeks were getting red (my room has no AC, it gets hot in there) so I moved us to the living room and the AC.

We just hung out on the couch together, him with his tablet, me with my phone. Then at 2:00 he said “Gramma, look!” So I looked… it was a name. A name from the credits of a movie. I asked him if he wanted me to write that name. Of course he did, DUH! So I spent the next hour Writing The Words. It wasn’t horrible and he was happy and calm so it was totally worth the time. I took a break at 2:30 to do his meds, get more coffee and use the bathroom. I grabbed a hairbrush while I was in there and brushed and rebraided his hair. Superpowers!

At 3:00 Daughter came out to take over. Back to Horizontal Time. Ben came in a few times to have me write more words, but I told him to go back to the AC after.

Things are headed toward the evening routine. Younger Daughter will be bringing Kris Cornsnake by for her final injection, no more ssssneezing. She’ll stay while I do the Driving Miss Daisy thing, so no stress tonight.

Thanks for hanging out! Even laundry is more fun when you’ve got friends with you. It was a surprisingly mellow day, considering how hot it was. High pressure causes headaches and irritability at Casa Cuckoo. Come on back tomorrow. It’s an anniversary for me and my daughters. We all have different feelings about it. It’s my FREEDOM Day. Come celebrate with me. I’ll have the coffee waiting.

.

.

HUGS!!

.

.

22 thoughts on “Part 113 ~ The Adventures of King Ben & Zeus the Big Dumb Dog

  1. I’m still fascinated by the chalk arrangements, and I’m fully convinced that there are deep stories in the alignment and selection of colors. If only we could understand the thought process, we might discover the answer to the world’s problems. Or we might get a really good recipe for Tandoori Chicken. Either way, we win… 😉

    Here’s to the folks who dream in color…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s awful that no one tipped. That makes me upset. We have done a few door dash orders. Once an older mother/daughter duo was working together and when I saw this poor masked woman amble to our porch to drop the order I realized how so many people were working for any kind of paycheck they could get. So, we started giving $10-$20 just to the delivery people. They need it!
    My pug does that too. She knows when it is laundry time and makes her little pug sounds trying to get comfy on my warm stack of clothes. Cracks me up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wouldn’t have minded so much if they weren’t both dirty, and if it wasn’t 90° outside. 😠
      At least your pug isn’t a Big Dumb Dogzilla🙄
      Yeah, we ALWAYS tip. We’re back to no indoor dining and bars & stuff are closed for at least 3 weeks because people were stupid and our cases spiked. People are having a hard time just getting food on the table. Daughter orders delivery a LOT. I think of the expense but its helping the business, the delivery person and I dont have to go grocery shopping as often so it kinda evens out🤷🏼‍♀️
      Younger said one of the deliveries was to a mansion up on the Richy Rich hill nearby. There are multi-million dollar homes up there, and zero tip. Come on! Really? That right there shows a lot of the divisions in our country.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s about 37C here today🥵 It was warm when we picked Daughter up from work at 7:30 this morning and I haven’t been back outside since. I can’t even imagine needing down in July. Does it even get that cold in Australia in July?? You Northern Dudes are a hearty breed!💌

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Can’t imagine people not tipping. What is wrong with them?
    If we order out ( which is rare) my husband insists on picking it up himself.
    No kidding. But, it’s nice to have a half an hour to myself.
    Staying inside. It’s way to hot out there. Sprinkled my corn and dahlias before they wilted too much, but came right back in.
    Glad you are getting a bit more rest.
    I read somewhere that every hour you get before midnight counts as twice as many . So if you go to sleep at 10pm, you got 4 hours . Super cool huh? Now if only i could take advantage of that.

    Stay cool Angie
    Teri

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish I could get to sleep before midnight too. Every once in a while I manage it🙄 I haven’t been outside since I picked Older up from work at 7:30 this morning. The weather Guessers reported 99°F at 2pm…ugh! No thank you!! A window AC isn’t all that, but it’s better than no AC!🥵

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.